To celebrate the opening of Gogo Herbs, 10% off health care products, enter the coupon code GOGOHERBS at checkout (not applicable to anti-epidemic products) ignore
covid-19 mask level

How to choose the best masks? Knowledge about mask level.

Since the epidemic hit Hong Kong,mask have become an important part of our life. But do you know how to choose the right mask? And what do BFE, PFE, and VFE represent? In this article, Gogo herbs will introduce you to the knowledge of mask protection standards for you, let’s take a look!

What do BFE, PFE and VFE actually mean?

BFE: (Bacterial Filtration Efficiency), is used to measure the efficiency of the mask filtering bacteria. The test is for particles with a size of 3 microns. For example, BFE>95% means that the mask can block 95% of particles with a size greater than 3 microns.

PFE: (Particulate Filtration Efficiency), is the particle filtering effect, used to measure the efficiency of the mask to filter particles. The test is for particles with a size of 0.1 microns. For example, PFE>95% means that the mask can block particles 95% with a size larger than 0.1 microns.

VFE: (Viral Filtration Efficiency), is used to measure the efficiency of the mask to filter viruses. The test is for particles with a size of 0.1-5 microns (average 2.8 microns). For example, PFE>95% means that the mask can block 95% of particles larger than 2.8 microns.

Mask
Mask

National mask grade standards

American masks: ASTM Level

ASTM levels refer to masks that comply with American Society for Testing and Materials International standards. There are three grades.

Level 1 (low protection): BFE and PFE data must exceed> 95%. Level 2 (medium protection): BFE and PFE data must exceed> 98%. Level 3 (high protection): BFE, PFE data must exceed> 98%, and synthetic blood penetration must exceed> 160mmHg.

European mask: EN14683

Europe uses the EN14683 classification standard, which is divided into three levels like ASTM.

Type I (low protection): BFE data needs to exceed> 95%. Type II (medium protection): BFE data must exceed> 98%. Type IIR (high protection): BFE data must exceed> 98%, and synthetic blood penetration must exceed> 120mmHg.

Japanese mask: PM2.5 Japanese masks are often marked with "PM2.5". Masks can effectively block particles larger than 2.5 microns in the air, such as air pollution suspended particles. For example, Japanese masks that only label "PM2.5" or "anti-pollen" are mostly only for second-hand smoke, air pollution, pollen and dust particles, etc. It is recommended to choose masks with BFE, PFE, and VFE data to know whether they are effective Block bacteria and viruses.

Japan Fast Mask medical three-layer surgical mask
Japan Fast Mask medical three-layer surgical mask

Which standard fits the situation in Hong Kong?

Although bacteria and viruses are both microorganisms with small sizes, they usually adhere to larger droplet particles when they spread. So under normal situations, choosing BFE/PFE/VFE>95% (ASTM Level 1), which can block droplets, is already enough to prevent new coronary pneumonia. Moreover, in the crowded environment of Hong Kong, we should also consider the air permeability of masks.

Do you have a better understanding of the classification of masks after reading this article? Only by knowing the standard of mask protection can you choose a mask that suits you.

Click here to buy mask made in Sweden that comply with EN14683 Type II, BFE/PFE> 98%, VFE> 95%.https://gogoherbs.com/shop/med024/

Michael F. O
Author: Michael F. O

Michael FO is a ravenous health writer with over five years of experience. He has to himself a chain of certification ranging from a university degree in Biochemistry to other professional honours. The hallmark of his craft has always been to research trends and educate target-demographic with well-curated health and lifestyle content. If he is not writing, then he is busy in his greenhouse block or spending quality time with Zuby, his pet.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

English
繁體中文 简体中文 English

為慶祝Gogo Herbs投入營業,保健產品照價9折,結帳時輸入優惠碼GOGOHERBS (不適用於防疫產品) 忽略
covid-19 mask level

【新冠肺炎】點揀口罩先最好?一文教你口罩等級知識!

自新冠肺炎疫情襲港,口罩已成為日常生活的一部分,但你又知不知道口罩的等級怎樣分類?BFE、PFE、VFE又代表什麼?此文 Gogo herbs 為你整合了口罩防護標準知識,一起來看看吧!

BFE、PFE、VFE代表什麼?

BFE:(Bacterial Filtration Efficiency),是細菌過濾效果,用於測量口罩過濾細菌的效率。測試針對3微米大小的微粒,例如BFE>95%即代表口罩能阻擋尺寸大於3微米的微粒95%。

PFE:(Particulate Filtration Efficiency),是粒子過濾效果,用於測量口罩過濾粒子的效率。測試針對0.1微米大小的微粒,例如PFE>95%即代表口罩能阻擋尺寸大於0.1微米的微粒95%。

VFE:(Viral Filtration Efficiency),是病毒過濾效果,用於測量口罩過濾病毒的效率。測試針對0.1 – 5微米(平均2.8微米)大小的微粒,例如PFE>95%即代表口罩能阻擋尺寸大於2.8微米的微粒95%。

口罩
口罩

各國口罩等級標準
美國口罩:ASTM Level

ASTM口罩是指符合美國材料和試驗協會(ASTM International)標準的口罩,共有三個等級。

Level 1(低防護):BFE、PFE 數據需超過> 95%。
Level 2(中防護):BFE、PFE 數據需超過> 98%。
Level 3(高防護):BFE、PFE 數據需超過> 98%,同時合成血液穿透性需超過> 160mmHg。

歐洲口罩:EN14683

歐洲使用 EN14683 分級標準,與ASTM一樣分為三個等級。

Type I(低防護):BFE 數據需超過> 95%。
Type II(中防護):BFE 數據需超過> 98%。
Type IIR(高防護):BFE 數據需超過> 98%,同時合成血液穿透性需超過> 120mmHg。

日本口罩:PM2.5
日本口罩上常常標示「PM2.5」,口罩能有效阻擋空氣中的尺寸大於2.5微米以上的粒子,例如是空氣污染的懸浮粒子。如只標示「PM2.5」或「防花粉」的日本口罩大多只針對二手煙、空氣污染、花粉以及塵粒等等,建議還是選擇標示了BFE、PFE、VFE數據的口罩,才能知道是否有效阻擋細菌、病毒。

日本Fast Mask醫療用三層外科口罩
日本Fast Mask醫療用三層外科口罩

在香港應使用哪個標準的口罩?
雖然細菌和病毒都是微生物,尺寸很小,但由於它們傳播時多是黏着尺寸較大的飛沫粒子,因此一般情況下,選擇BFE/PFE/VFE>95%、ASTM Level 1,能阻擋飛沫的口罩已經足夠有效預防新冠肺炎。而且在香港擠擁的環境,口罩的透氣度亦是重要的考慮因素。

看完此文是否對口罩的分類更有了解呢?認識口罩防護標準,才能選擇適合自己的口罩。

按此購買瑞典製,符合 EN14683 Type II,BFE/PFE> 98%、VFE> 95%的口罩:https://gogoherbs.com/shop/med024/

Michael F. O
Author: Michael F. O

Michael F.O is a ravenous health writer with over five years of experience. He has to himself a chain of certification ranging from a university degree in Biochemistry to other professional honours. The hallmark of his craft has always been to research trends and educate target-demographic with well-curated health and lifestyle content. If he is not writing, then he is busy in his greenhouse block or spending quality time with Zuby, his pet.

發表評論

你的電郵地址並不會被公開。 必要欄位標記為 *

繁體中文
English 简体中文 繁體中文